Thursday, May 16, 2019

ARC Review: Irrelevant (The Relevance Series #1) by Sarah Addison-Fox 

44663835Irrelevant

(The Relevance Series #1)

Mallory’s been hiding who she is for 18 years…

But now her terrible secret has been exposed.

Branded Irrelevant, Mallory is cut off from everything she knows.

Irrelevants are criminals, banished to live in the old city. But in the wasteland between the new city and the old, she stumbles on Cristan.

He’s bitter, paranoid, and possibly crazy…

He may also be right about everything.

To survive, Mallory must figure out who to trust, and embrace the behaviour she’s been taught to deny.

The answers may lie in a place even the most rebellious Irrelevants won’t go.

For fans of The Hunger Games, The Gender Game and Divergent comes an action-packed love story celebrating Autism and Neuro Divergence that you won’t want to put down.

Pick up a copy and fall in love with Mallory and Cristan today.

Review:
*I received an eARC from the author. This does not affect my review.*

From the start, I was exciting about this story. I could tell it was one I wouldn’t be able to put down…

And guess what?

I was right!

It’s funny since I’ve known for years that I was neural-divergent but only recently tested (still waiting…) but it’s something I also noticed in reading. I’m always drawn to those characters who are more like anti-heroes, and morally gray, never really one side or the others. So Dystopians are something I’m always finding on my ‘Favorite’ books list! This one might just be one of the Top!

I loved the characters, Cristan was easily my favorite from the start, but Mallory was super easy for me to relate to, more so even than many other characters I read about, and I loved seeing her realize that she isn’t weird, or broken, or even unwanted…Irrelevant. Instead the same things she was taught make her wrong was the same things that make her strong. Being different can be powerful, and I loved seeing this message to clear in this story. I can’t wait to read more of this series, you’ll definitely want the next book close by!

No comments:

Post a Comment