Thursday, January 5, 2017

Review: Crown of Midnight

17167166Crown of Midnight by Sarah J. Maas
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Blurb: "A line that should never be crossed is about to be breached.

It puts this entire castle in jeopardy—and the life of your friend."


From the throne of glass rules a king with a fist of iron and a soul as black as pitch. Assassin Celaena Sardothien won a brutal contest to become his Champion. Yet Celaena is far from loyal to the crown. She hides her secret vigilantly; she knows that the man she serves is bent on evil.

Keeping up the deadly charade becomes increasingly difficult when Celaena realizes she is not the only one seeking justice. As she tries to untangle the mysteries buried deep within the glass castle, her closest relationships suffer. It seems no one is above questioning her allegiances—not the Crown Prince Dorian; not Chaol, the Captain of the Guard; not even her best friend, Nehemia, a foreign princess with a rebel heart.

Then one terrible night, the secrets they have all been keeping lead to an unspeakable tragedy. As Celaena's world shatters, she will be forced to give up the very thing most precious to her and decide once and for all where her true loyalties lie... and whom she is ultimately willing to fight for.





Cover: Very Nice
Rating: 4 Stars
Overall: Had it's moments...
Characters: Well Written
Plot: Celaena is now the King's Champion, but her new power also brings new dangers!
Page Turner: Sometimes
Series Cont.? Yes
Recommend: Yes
Favorite Character: Celaena
Source: Library

Review: I honestly feel this books deserves a 3-3.5 but looking at is as a part of a series, it's a solid 4. To me this is my least favorite of SJ Maas' books, but I started with ACOTAR so I'm used to her later works. I love this series, and look forward to getting my hands on Heir of Fire! This one left off in such a way that anything can happen, and probably will! While I was bored though most of this one, it did have places that I was in love with it, and toward the end, and most of the second half, once things start moving again it really picks up! While I guess a lot of the twists in this book from foreshadows (and some spoilers >.<) it still surprised me how things turned out for Celaena! Definitely a must read for fans of Throne of Glass and SJ Maas in general!


2 comments:

  1. Nice review! I agree, I was also bored in places :( But overall I liked it.

    Amy @ A Magical World Of Words

    ReplyDelete
    Replies
    1. Yeah. I liked it over all, but it seemed to take forever to get through some parts. Thank you for reading! :)

      Delete