Tuesday, October 23, 2018

New Release: THE SOCIETY by K.A. Linde

The fourth book in the fantasy Ascension series that NYT bestselling author Susan Dennard called “perfect for fans of Sarah J Maas.”

War is on the horizon.

All while a new power grows strong, threatening the very balance of good and evil.

Desperate to save her homeland, Cyrene goes in search of the dragons that may be the key to ending this battle—and heal her dying friend.

Can Cyrene master her magic to save the world?

ADD TO GOODREADS

 

AVAILABLE NOW

Amazon | iBooks | B&N | Kobo | Google Play

 

ta-amazonThe Affiliate: Book 1

“With rich romance and twisty political intrigue, THE AFFILIATE is a breakneck fantasy ride that’s perfect for fans of THE SELECTION or THRONE OF GLASS.” –Susan Dennard, NYT bestselling author of TRUTHWITCH

On the day of her Presenting, in front of the entire Byern Court, seventeen-year-old Cyrene Strohm’s lifelong plans come to fruition when she’s chosen for one of the most prestigious positions in her homeland–an Affiliate to the Queen.

Or so she thinks.

When Cyrene receives a mysterious letter and an unreadable book, she finds nothing is as it seems. Thrust into a world of dangerous political intrigue and deadly magic, Cyrene’s position only grows more treacherous when she finds herself drawn to the one man she can never have…

King Edric himself.

Cyrene must decide if love is truly worth the price of freedom. Find out in this first book in USA Today bestselling author K.A. Linde’s new Ascension series. Great for fans of Game of Thrones, Tudors, and Sarah J. Maas’s Throne of Glass series.

 

AmazoniBooksB&NKobo

 

 

tb-amazonCyrene Strohm is a Queen’s Affiliate, a high-ranking official of the court of Byern, with power and privilege to spare. But she’s also a keeper of dangerous secrets: like the fact that she holds the heart of the King, and that she possesses magic in a world where magic no longer exists.

Determined to discover what this means and how to use her newfound abilities, Cyrene sets off for the distant land of Eleysia. An island nation where Affiliates are strictly forbidden from entering.

But the journey is perilous, and the destination may mean utter ruin, as Cyrene comes to learn that everything she’s been told her whole life – about her court, her homeland, and even herself—are bound in a beautiful lie.

 

 

AmazoniBooksKoboGoodreads

 

 

After the loss of a friend and false imprisonment in an Eleysian dungeon, Cyrene has no interest in destiny. Her heart was shattered, friends scattered, and her home is nothing but a pretty illusion. Even her magic won’t cooperate.
When all seems lost, she turns to the one person she never thought that she would trust:

Prince Kael.

His darkness mirrors a growing force lurking within her. A struggle she never imagined threatens to consume her. And as friends and foes begin to show their true colors, she starts questioning whether anyone is who they seem.
Even herself.

 

Amazon USAmazon UKiBooksB&NKoboGoogle Play

 

K.A. Linde grew up as a military brat and created fantastical stories based off of her love for Disney movies, fairy tales, and Star Wars. In her spare time, she is an avid traveler, loves reading young adult novels, and dancing. Additionally, K.A. has written more than a dozen adult novels and is a USA Today bestselling author. She lives in Lubbock, TX with her husband and two super adorable puppies.

K.A. Linde loves to hear from her readers!

You can contact her at kalinde45@gmail.com or visit her online at one of the following sites:

www.kalinde.com

www.facebook.com/authorkalinde

@authorkalinde

Monday, October 22, 2018

My Monday

It doesn’t feel like it should be Monday again, but here we are. After a crazy busy week last week, I’ve spent the last two days resting and working on cleaning around the house.

Things have been pretty good for the most part. Thursday starts my step-dad’s monthly week off, so I’m hoping things go smoothly, but otherwise I’m looking forward to working more around the house and actually getting some things done. I also see the Psychiatrist Thursday so I’ll see what she says about the blood work I had done today, and about my recent struggles with my current meds.

While I would love to return to school in January, I’ve decided that even in the unlikely event that I was approved under short notice, that I wouldn’t have the money to cover school costs or the supplies I need (ex. a new laptop, and clothes namely.) Instead, I will spend the time helping my mom around the house until we are able to find a place that my grandma can move to that is both closer to my mom, and able to provide the help my grandma needs.

Once I’m no longer listed on my grandma’s lease I will be able to work and save up, and be able to work on buying the things I need as well. For now, my grandma lives in a two-bedroom apartment, since we don’t want to move her more than we have to since she has no resources to move herself, and it’s hard on the whole family.

2018 Harvey Awards for Best in Comics and Graphic Novels — Amazon Book Review

Reposted from: The Amazon Book Review

The Harvey Awards–named for Harvey Kurtzman, who launched MADmagazine in 1952–celebrated their 30th anniversary with a gala awards ceremony over the weekend during New York Comic Con, one of the biggest pop culture fan conventions in the U.S.

In addition to announcing the winners below, the Harvey Awards also inducted Roz Chast and Dave Gibbons into the Hall of Fame.

MonstressBook of the YearMonstress by Marjorie Liu and Sana Takeda (Print Book | Kindle Book)

BARRIERDigital Book of the YearBARRIER by Brian K. Vaughn, Marcos Martin and Muntsa Vicente (Print Book | download from publisher)

The Prince and the DressmakerBest Children or Young Adult Book – TiedThe Prince and the Dressmaker by Jen Wang (Print Book | Kindle Book)

The Tea Dragon SocietyBest Children or Young Adult Book – TiedThe Tea Dragon Society by Katie O’Neill (Print Book | Kindle Book)

My Lesbian Experience with LonelinessBest MangaMy Lesbian Experience with Loneliness by Nagata Kabi (Print Book | Kindle Book)

California Dreamin': Cass Elliot Before The Mamas & the PapasBest European BookCalifornia Dreamin’: Cass Elliot Before The Mamas & the Papas by Pénélope Bagieu (Print Book | Kindle Book)

Black PantherBest Adapatation from a Comic Book/Graphic NovelBlack Panther directed by Ryan Coogler, adapted from “Black Panther” (Marvel Comics) (Prime Video)

Sunday, October 21, 2018

Sunday’s Spotlight: The Storyteller

35844051

The Storyteller

(Sea of Ink and Gold #3)

by
Traci Chee (Goodreads Author)
 4.58  ·  Rating details ·  19 Ratings  ·  Reviews
Sefia is determined to keep Archer out of the Guard’s clutches and their plans for war between the Five Kingdoms. The Book, the ancient, infinite codex of the past, present and future, tells of a prophecy that will plunge Kelanna in that bloody war, but it requires a boy—Archer—and Sefia will stop at nothing to ensure his safety. The Guard has already stolen her mother, her father, and her Aunt Nin. Sefia would sooner die than let them take anymore from her—especially the boy she loves.

But escaping the Guard and the Book’s prophecy is no easy task. After all, what is written always comes to pass. As Sefia and Archer watch Kelanna start to crumble to the Guard’s will, they will have to choose between their love and joining a war that just might tear them apart.

Wednesday, October 17, 2018

New Release: You Do You

Today we are celebrating the release of You Do You, the sixth book in the New York Times bestselling I Just Want to Pee Alone series, which has tackled a variety of topics since 2012 – including parenthood, relationships, and the cult of female perfection – all with a broad range of voices, from the cynical, to the ugly-cry, to the outright hilarious.

YOU DO YOU is a love-fest for the females in our lives. This is a book for anyone in middle school to middle age.

Purchase the book now:

Purchase from Amazon | Apple Books | Nook | Kobo

Purchase it in Paperback

You Do You (I Just Want to Pee Alone Series Book 6)

Synopsis:

This year has shown us that the future is decidedly female. While raising daughters has perhaps never been simple, it is growing more complex by the day. In a parenting age that often tells young girls that they are somehow “less than,” one award-winning publisher decided to assemble a collection of voices to celebrate the girls in our lives. These are those stories.

You Do You is the sixth book in the New York Times bestselling I Just Want to Pee Alone series, which has tackled a variety of topics since 2012 – including parenthood, relationships, and the cult of female perfection – all with a broad range of voices, from the cynical, to the ugly-cry, to the outright hilarious. YOU DO YOU is a love-fest for the females in our lives. This is a book for anyone in middle school to middle age.

Add it to your TBR pile


Purchase the book now:

Purchase from Amazon | Apple Books | Nook | Kobo

Purchase it in Paperback

Featured Authors

Jen Mann (Editor)

Harper Kincaid (Contributor)

Miranda Raye (Contributor)

Jenn Belden (Contributor)

Mai Wen (Contributor)

Julia Arnold (Contributor)

Julia Bozza (Contributor)

Dana Aritonovich (Contributor)

Maddie Belden (Contributor)

Kim Bongiorno (Contributor)

Galit Breen (Contributor)

Abby Byrd (Contributor)

E.R. Catalano (Contributor)

Abigail Clark (Contributor)

Dorrit Corwin (Contributor)

Sarah Cottrell (Contributor)

Deva Dalporto (Contributor)

A.M. Dalporto (Contributor)

Whitney Dineen (Contributor)

Katy Farber (Contributor)

Mary Kay Jordan Fleming (Contributor)

Kim Forde (Contributor)

Leslie Gaar (Contributor)

Shya Gibbons(Contributor)

Monica Gokey (Contributor)

Alice Gomstyn (Contributor)

Tracy Hargen (Contributor)

Joy Hedding (Contributor)

Susanne Kerns (Contributor)

Catherine Kremer (Contributor)

Janel Mills (Contributor)

Moly Sandler (Contributor)

Katie Bingham Smith (Contributor)

Sherry Stanfa-Stanley (Contributor)

Katelyn Sullivan(Contributor)

Megan Sullivan (Contributor)

Julie Vick(Contributor)

Mandy Hoefert Waysman (Contributor)

————–

InkSlinger-Blogger banner-New