Monday, October 15, 2018

My Monday

-Sigh- What a week. Well, it’s not been all bad, but it’s been busy, and messy, but productive I hope?

Well I’ve mentioned before about raising rabbits, well we’ve come to a decision to sell most of our current stock to do some house maintenance in the basement/garage where they live, and to build a better system for cages to streamline cleaning and feeding so my family (mostly my sister) can care for them while I go back to school. Oh yeah, I haven’t mentioned, I’m going back to school. I’ve found a place where I can study Wildlife Rehab and Wildlife Biology which is my dream job (aside from book related jobs! ;D)

But at what cost? It’s looking less and less likely that my family will be going on the mission trip to Jamaica next year, which honestly I expected would happen, but I would have loved to go. If we get another chance, I plan to really consider it, but it just isn’t practical right now. There are too many things that need worked on around the house and we really need to focus on that before doing anything else.

So I really want to start school next semester, but since we are having to pay my old school to release my transcripts and won’t be finished paying until February, I need to talk to the office of the new school and see what they suggest. Still I did what I could for now, and my mom plans to take me for a tour in the next few weeks.

So a lot’s going on, we are having to clean the house from top to bottom and get rid of anything we don’t need so that we can get the house repairs that we haven’t been able to afford before now that we have a little help dealing with the mounting bills and have a little money each month that we can save up. We still need to use it wisely, but it’s nice to finally be getting somewhere.

Sunday, October 14, 2018

Sunday’s Spotlight: The Boneless Mercies

36949995

The Boneless Mercies

A dark standalone YA fantasy about a band of mercenary girls in search of female glory.

Frey, Ovie, Juniper, and Runa are the Boneless Mercies—girls hired to kill quickly, quietly, and mercifully. But Frey is weary of the death trade and, having been raised on the heroic sagas of her people, dreams of a bigger life.

When she hears of an unstoppable monster ravaging a nearby town, Frey decides this is the Mercies’ one chance out. The fame and fortune of bringing down such a beast would ensure a new future for all the Mercies. In fact, her actions may change the story arc of women everywhere.

Saturday, October 13, 2018

AudioTour: Invincible (#2)

Author: C.A. Gray

Narrator: Melissa Thom

Series: Piercing the Veil Trilogy, Book 2

Publisher: Wanderlust Publishing

Released: Sep. 07, 2018

Length: 8 hours 12 minutes

Genre: Young Adult, Fantasy

The Shadow Lord rises again seeking a weapon of ultimate power.

Peter Stewart is a dead ringer for the legendary King Arthur, and because of that, everyone in Carlion believes that he is the Child of the Prophecy, destined to destroy the Shadow Lord. But Peter doesn’t want to be a hero; all he wants to be is left alone.

Lily Portman also fits the prophecy. Having spent her entire life as an orphan and a misfit, Lily would love nothing more than to be the Child of the Prophecy, so she envies Peter…but she’s also developing a crush on him. And it seems to her that he couldn’t care less.

Isdemus and the Watchers believe that it is only a matter of time before Peter’s twin brother Kane betrays them all and frees the Shadow Lord. The winner of the war to come depends on who has the legendary Philosopher’s Stone – the only problem is, it has been lost since the days of Arthur. With the help of a skeptical anthropologist, the Watchers attempt to decode the ancient treasure maps that lead them to the heart of Egypt and the dawn of time. Meanwhile, Lily and Peter discover that Peter holds the real key to the mystery…but will they be too late?

Buy Links

By day, C.A. Gray is a Naturopathic Medical Doctor (NMD) with a primary care practice in Tucson, AZ, and she writes medical books under her real name (Dr. Lauren Deville). She lives with her husband, with whom she maintains a facetiously contentious movie review blog, and travels as often as they can get away. When not writing or seeing patients, she does yoga, drinks red wine while eating dark chocolate, and consumes audiobooks like there’s no tomorrow!

WebsiteTwitterFacebookGoodreadsInstagram

Narrator Bio

Melissa has over 17 years’ experience as a voice actor, broadcaster, presenter, entrepreneur & communications consultant. Always fond of spinning a good yarn, she has an English Literature degree & studied acting at Bristol Old Vic & The American Conservatory Theatre, San Francisco. Melissa kicked off her career in 1999 as station voice at Surf 107.2, Brighton. She went on to host breakfast for the GWR Group and Sunday breakfast on Galaxy 101 for Chrysalis. Numerous gigs for major brands followed, including Heineken – where she was the main voice for their ‘Found @ Thirst’ annual Caribbean DJ competition for over 4 years. Current clients include Google, Facebook, The Economist and Late Night Tales – a series of artist curated compilation albums.

Twitter

Now, that’s the story I was hoping for! While it’s often the second book that struggles, in this one I felt that the first book could have been better, but this one makes it all worth it! While I enjoyed the first book, it was a bit chaotic at times, and this one is where things finally start to make sense, and fit together. I enjoyed the characters more, the plot flowed smoothly, and the writing was well done.

While I’m not a fan of changing narrators for each book if not absolutely necessary, Melissa does a wonderful job picking up this series. I really enjoyed listen to her as she brought the story to life with character accents and emotion added as she read.

I received this audiobook as part of my participation in a blog tour with Audiobookworm Promotions. The tour is being sponsored by C.A. Gray. The gifting of this audiobook did not affect my opinion of it.

BOOK ONE

Oct. 4th:
In Pattis Imagination

The Book Junkie Reads . . .

Oct. 5th:
Lilly’s Book World

Adventures Thru Wonderland

Oct. 6th:
Notes from ‘Round the Bend
T’s Stuff
Bean’s Bookshelf

Oct. 7th:
Jazzy Book Reviews

Oct. 8th:
Haddie’s Haven
Writers N Authors

Oct. 9th:
Lynn’s Romance Enthusiasm
Smada’s Book Smack

Oct. 10th:
The Book Addict’s Reviews

BOOK TWO

Oct. 11th:
In Pattis Imagination

The Book Junkie Reads . . .

Oct. 12th:
Lilly’s Book World
Bean’s Bookshelf

Oct. 13th:
Notes from ‘Round the Bend

Adventures Thru Wonderland

Oct. 14th:
Lynn’s Romance Enthusiasm
T’s Stuff
Writers N Authors

Oct. 15th:
Jazzy Book Reviews

Oct. 16th:
Haddie’s Haven

Oct. 17th:
The Book Addict’s Reviews

➜Sign up as a host here

 

Friday, October 12, 2018

Blog Tour: Blinding Night

{Review+Giveaway} Blinding Night by Chantal Gadoury @cgadoury16 @parliamentbooks

{Review+Giveaway} Blinding Night by Chantal Gadoury @cgadoury16 @parliamentbooksBlinding Night by Chantal Gadoury
Pages: 289
Published by The Parliament House on October 2, 2018
Genres: New Adult, mythology, Romance
Source: eARC from Publisher
Find it: GoodreadsAmazonB&NKobofive-stars

What if you were the missing piece in one of the world’s most epic legends?

Despite being an art history student, Summer isn’t thrilled to be stuck with her archeologist family all summer in Greece. While the rest of her college friends are posting a million selfies by the pool together, Summer is stuck alone, trying to entertain herself alone in a place where she doesn’t even speak the language.

Upon her arrival to Greece, strange dreams and even stranger shadows seem to haunt Summer, leaving her to ponder the meaning of pomegranate seeds and twisted, darkened faces.

Suddenly, her stay abroad leads to tragic twists, leaving Summer in the arms of a dark stranger, who claims to be the god, Hades, whom she feels like she knows from another life. In a whirlwind through the busy streets of Athens, Summer is seduced to the lowest point of Greece where Hades’ lair awaits…the Underworld. Determined to find out who she is and where she belongs in an age-old myth, Summer joins Hades to discover that the secrets about her past life are beyond anything she could have ever imagined.

I love mythology, and am so excited about this series! While I’ve always been fascinated by stories and legends from around the world, mythologies have always been my favorite kind of story. From ancient religions to modern fantasies I love reading about these characters. This one not only caught my attention, but easily grabbed my interest and I found myself reading it every change I had!

Often times I find books that sound amazing, but don’t always live up to the promise, yet there are those gems that not only provide, but that even go beyond my expectations! This is one of those! I loved the characters, and am so excited to know I can expect more of them in the future!

Tour Schedule:

Week One:

10/1/2018- PopTheButterfly Reads– Review

10/2/2018- BookHounds YA– Excerpt

10/3/2018- YA/NA Book Divas– Review

10/4/2018- Bri’s Book Nook– Review

10/5/2018- Vesper Dreams– Review

Week Two:

10/8/2018- Such A Novel Idea– Review

10/9/2018- A Bookish Dream– Review

10/10/2018- Book Briefs– Review

10/11/2018- Random Bookish Banter– Review

10/12/2018- Adventures Thru Wonderland– Review

About Chantal Gadoury

Amazon Best Selling Author, Chantal Gadoury, is a 2011 graduate from Susquehanna University with a Bachelor’s Degree in Creative Writing.

Since graduation, she has published “The Songs in Our Hearts” with 48Fourteen Publishing, and “Allerleirauh” with Parliament House Press, with future titles to follow. Chantal first started writing stories at the age of seven and continues with that love of writing today.

Writing novels for Chantal has become a life-long dream come true! When she’s not writing, she enjoys painting, drinking lots of DD Iced Coffee, and watching Disney classics. Chantal lives in Muncy, Pennsylvania with her Mom, Sister and furry-‘brother’ (aka, puppy) Taran.

Subscribe to Chantal’s Newsletter! https://www.chantalgadoury.com/newsletter

 

Giveaway Details:

1 winner will win a signed finished copy of BLINDING NIGHT, US Only.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Rafflecopter link in case the widget doesn’t load:

http://www.rafflecopter.com/rafl/display/e2389ba2809/?

Wednesday, October 10, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday: Oct 10, 2018

Waiting on Wednesday is hosted by Wishful Endings and was previously hosted by Breaking the Spine.   It was created to show off a future release that you are excited for.

40119041

Salt for Air

Greek mythology meets The Little Mermaid in this delicious fantasy novel about a quiet, nerdy girl who meets a mer prince in her bathroom. Perfect for fans of The Heroes of Olympus and the Lux series.

Seventeen-year-old Ellie dreams of mermen. She writes fanfiction about them and spends time in underwater kingdoms in her imagination, trying to escape the sad reality: she is an orphan. And not only that, but she’s bullied every day at school -she’s a nerd, she hates sports, she loves books and she used to be overweight. What’s not to bully?

One day, the bullies go too far. They try to drown her, but at the last minute an otherworldly creature shows up in the water. He keeps her breathing and tells her to live: “How will you be able to save anyone if you can’t even save yourself?”

She thinks it was a dream, but the emerald-eyed merman boy who rescued her appears in her school the next day. Is he really the exiled prince of an ancient kingdom that’s on the brink of utter destruction? And is he asking her to save him? Or is something far more sinister and deadly lurking in the water that surrounds her little Greek town?

When myth and reality collide, can love save their lives?